ACCA Africa has launched its inaugural CFO Awards under the theme of ‘CFOs leading recovery, growth and sustainability’.

The awards will recognise, celebrate and showcase CFOs who have contributed to the advancement of their organisation and the profession. The winners will be announced at a virtual event in August 2022.

The objectives are to recognise outstanding performance, raise the profile of the CFO’s strategic role, highlight the essential part that CFOs and finance functions play within organisations, showcase the good finance practices that help build resilient businesses, and inspire upcoming finance and business leaders and CEOs.

‘These awards will also enhance our brand across the Africa region, provide a platform for developing talent, and give members value through profiling and employability opportunities,’ said Jamil Ampomah, director for ACCA Africa.

Nominations are open from 27 May until 24 June 2022 (self-nominations are allowed) for the following categories:

  • Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise Award
  • Public Sector Award
  • Young CFO Award – for CFOs up to the age of 35
  • Financial Services Sector Award
  • Environment, Social and Governance Award
  • CFO of the Year.