ACCA’s Council met on 7 November 2023 and considered a number of matters prior to the AGM, including reports from the chief executive and Council Board, the standing orders for the following year, and the annual reports from the Council Board, Regulatory Board and standing committees.

ACCA’s Annual Council meeting took place on 9 November 2023 immediately following ACCA’s 118th AGM. At the annual Council meeting, Council elected ACCA’s officers for the coming year. ACCA’s new president is Ronnie Patton. He will be supported by Ayla Majid (deputy president) and Melanie Proffitt (vice president).

Council welcomed five new members, whose election was declared at the AGM: Elaine Boyd, Winnie Ki, Fen Nee Lim, Grainne Murphy and Rabia Shaukat.

Council also welcomed the seven re-elected members: Matthew Wong, Joseph Owolabi, Siobhan Pandya, Oxana Losevskaya, Liz Blackburn, Babajide Ibironke and Nauman Asif Mian.

For 2023-24, Council will be comprised of 45 members, made up of 28 women and 17 men from 17 countries.

Council took a number of other decisions at its annual meeting, including:

  • electing three Council members to serve on the Nominating and Governance Committee in 2023-24
  • adopting Council’s standing orders for 2023-24 in accordance with the bye-laws
  • approving the Council regulations for 2024
  • agreeing the Council work plan and objectives for the year ahead.